9 Days of Navratri

gold and red hindu deity statue

The Divine Feminine is the energy that can’t be seen or heard, but she can be felt.

This feminine energy is nature – in all living beings on earth, including the ocean, moon, and trees.

In Hindi, we call this energy – Shakti.

Woman in Yellow and Purple Floral Hijab

Feminine energy is motherly energy that is nurturing and affectionate. She also exhibits qualities like beauty, sensuality and attraction.

Feminine energy is the combination of – Creativity, Inspiration, Peace and Harmony, in their purest forms.

Feminine energy is power, which is your true nature as a woman. And even if somedays you don’t feel powerful enough, this Divine Feminine energy is still there within you, waiting patiently to be embraced.

To embrace and celebrate this Divine Feminine Energy within us, we have a festival called NAVARATRI.

Navaratri is a Hindu festival that means 9 nights.  “Nav” meaning “nine”, “Ratri” meaning “nights”.

red and white heart shaped textile

“Sharada Navaratri” is the most observed and celebrated in the honour of the divine feminine energy – Devi – Mother Goddess Durga.

Navratri festival is the celebration and worshipping of nine forms of feminine energies in the nine days.

Stage decorations, enacting of the mythological stories and chanting of the scriptures of Hinduism is part of this grand festival.

People in Red and Gold Traditional Dress

In these nine days, families visit these decorated pandals. The public celebration of classical and folk dances of Hindu culture is enacted on these pandals.

In Gujarat, the famous ” Garba ” and ” Dandiya”, which is the traditional and cultural dance form of Gujarat, is performed around the Devi’s/ Goddess idol.

yellow and red pencil on brown wooden table

Hindu devotees often celebrate Navaratri by fasting for all nine days.

The tenth day, called the Vijayadashami, symbolizes the victory of good over evil.

Navratri festival also indicates that the Diwali festival is coming closer. Diwali festival is celebrated twenty days after Vijayadashami.

Significance of the Nine days of Navratri.

Hindu Deity Figurine on Brown Wooden Table

There was a prominent battle that took place between goddess Durga and the demon, Mahishasura.

When the goddess killed the demon, it signifies the victory of good over evil.

To celebrate the victory over evil, these nine days are mainly dedicated to goddess Durga and her eight avatars or incarnations called the “Navadurgas”.

Each day is dedicated to each form of the goddess.

Woman in Red and Blue Floral Dress

The nine-day festival of Navratri , signifies the arrival of the Goddess Durga, the auspicious Devi Paksha begins.

The devotees usually observe fast, perform puja and celebrate the nine manifestations of feminine power with lots of enthusiasm.

One of the aspects of the Navratri festival is that different colours are associated with each day.

Day 1 – Shailaputri

Day 2 – Brahmacharini

Day 3 – Chandraghanta

Day 4 – Kushmanda

Day 5 – Goddess Skandamata

Day 6 – Goddess Katyayani

hindu deity statue on gold and gold armchair

Day 7 – Goddess Kaalratri

gold and red cathedral interior

Day 8 – Goddess Mahagauri

Day 9 – Goddess Siddhidatri

woman in purple and gold sari dress

10th Day – Vijayadashami

Vijayadashami is also known as Dussehra.

It is the tenth day of Navratri, which marks or signifies the end of Navratri.

Dussehra is celebrated to honour the victory of Lord Rama over Ravan, the same as the triumph of Goddess Durga over demon Mahishadura.

May this Navratri add colours

of happiness, prosperity and spirituality into your lives.

Happy Navratri.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s