Beauty of the Small and Simple Bindi.

Indian women are known for draping beautiful sarees and gold jewellery.

Other than the saree, Bindi is one of the most internationally known body adornments worn by Indian women.

 A bindi is a bright coloured dot applied or smeared in the centre of the forehead. It is placed exactly between the eyebrows, in the middle of the forehead.

The word “Bindi”, is derived from the Sanskrit language word – “Bindu”.

 “Bindu” means “a dot, or a point, and/or a small particle”.

Indian girls and women apply bindi in a circular shape , whereas , Indian men apply bindi called the “Tilak” which is like a straight line.

gray concrete statue under blue sky during daytime
gold and white hindu deity figurine

 A bindi is applied or smeared in the centre of the forehead, using Kumkum (vermilion), Vibhuti (sacred ashes) or Chandan (Sandalwood) powder.

Each of these powders have their own benefits.

red and green beaded necklace

Kumkum – Helps in Easing Stress and Strain.

Vibhuti – Prevents Headaches

Chandan – Calms the mind

Bindi and the Ajna Chakra

Woman in Yellow and Purple Floral Hijab

You must have seen an idol of the Hindu goddess. She is of different forms. Based on her different forms and their uniqueness the goddess is classified into “9 Navdurga” and “10 Mahavidya”.

Each goddess is always adorned with a bindi. Some goddesses have the third eye in place of the bindi.

Around 3000 BC, the ancient seers of Hinduism wrote the Vedas.

In the Vedas, the presence of areas of concentrated energy called the “Chakras”, are well explained.

Our body comprises of these 7 main concentrated energy points, called the Chakras.

These 7 Chakras are aligned with our spinal cord, which runs along the centre of the body.

Out of these 7 Chakras, the sixth chakra is called the Ajna chakra, or the “brow chakra” or “third eye chakra”.

Ajna Chakra is exactly where the bindi is placed, in the centre of the forehead.

The word “Ajna” in Sanskrit, means “perceive,” or “command”. It is related to the third eye of intellect and intuition.

According to the Vedas, when you see something in your dream or your mind’s eye, it is also seen by the Ajna.

The Ajna Chakra looks like a sacred lotus with two petals. Although it is traditionally described as white, it is said that it also looks like violet, indigo or deep blue.


The syllable OM is the seed syllable for the Ajna chakra.

The “Ardhanarishvara”, who is a half male, half female Shiva/Shakti, is the presiding deity of this chakra.

As per metaphysics, Bindu is considered as the dot or point from which the creation begins.

Creation of the universe is said to be in symmetry or union, hence the unity of male and female powers – Shiva and Shakti.

Ajna Chakra is also known as “the sacred symbol of the cosmos”.

Image of ajna chakra in late hindu tradition. Inside the two-petalled lotus there is a circle, a triangle, an OM mantra

Ajna Chakra’s main function is to manifest or balance your higher and lower selves so that you can come in equilibrium with your inner and outer world.

Ajna Chakra relates to the development of intuition. Ajna Chakra deals with the mental aspect of the brain, which deals with visual consciousness. And on the emotional aspect, Ajna Chakra deals with clarity on an intuitive level.

Thus, the purpose of the bindi is to make us realize and focus our mind, on the central point of our inner universe.

By focussing our mind on the Ajna Chakra, we can inculcate the powers of this chakra.

We can do this by facilitating our abilities to access our inner world which is full of wisdom and knowledge.

By focussing on the “Ajna Chakra” you will be able to see or analyse the outer world better. You will be able to interpret things in an unbiased and truthful manner. You will abandon the ego and get rid of false labels by connecting to this chakra.

Significance of the Bindi

The bindi has a traditional and a historical presence in all the regions of India.

All of us have a third inner eye.

The two physical eyes are used for seeing the external or the outer world, while the third emphasises on the inward world or universe or towards God.

The bindi is applied to remind us to keep God at the centre of our thoughts.

Hence, the Bindu or the Bindi is known as the “Third Eye Chakra”.

Bindu, the central point or central dot around, is also the Bindu of Mandala.

The mandala is created from this central point called the “Bindu”, which represents the Universe.

Hence, by meditating on the “Bindu” or the “Ajna Chakra”, we can see the Universe within us.

Bindi in the modern times

You must have seen an Indian bride adorning a beautiful red colour bindi.

The red-coloured bindi is considered an auspicious sign of marriage.

As the bride begins her new journey in her husband’s home, her red bindi is assumed to guide her towards a prosperous marriage and grant her a place as the family’s newest guardian.

In the case of a widowed woman, she no longer adorns the red bindi due to its association with marriage. She starts wearing a black-coloured bindi on her forehead.

In modern times, the representation of the bindi has changed.

Bindis have evolved and now come in all sizes, shapes, and colours.

A Bindi has now become a part of beauty accessories.


  • Bindi is used as a part of a cosmetic to enhance one’s beauty.
  • Bindi has religious and cultural significance.
  • Red-coloured bindi represents love, honour and prosperity.
  • Bindi is used as the focal point during meditation, to activate the Ajna Chakra’ or the ‘Third eye’ can be activated with the help of the Bindi.
  • Bindi reminds us of our conscious abilities, which is a unique gift, given to us humans by nature.