Navratri : The Best 9 Bhogs for the Powerful Goddess Durga


Navratri : Introduction

Devotees celebrate Navratri with immense fervour and devotion, dedicating it to Goddess Durga and her nine divine avatars.

Throughout these nine days, devotees partake in a multitude of religious activities, with a primary focus on the veneration of Navdurga.


Devotees prepare a unique bhog (offering) for each avatar as each form of the goddess represents distinct characteristics.

Now, let’s embark on a culinary journey through the Navratri bhog offerings that complete the pooja during these nine auspicious days.

9 Days of Navratri: 9 Bhogs / Prasad

Day 1: Shailputri


On the first day of Navratri, worshippers venerate Mata Shailputri, who is the daughter of Himalaya.

Devotees offer pure desi ghee at her feet, believing that this offering blesses them with a life free from diseases and illness.

Day 2: Brahmacharini


On the second day, devotees honour Mata Brahmacharini, known for her simplicity.

The bhog for this day consists of sugar and fruits, symbolizing a wish for the longevity of family members.

Day 3: Chandraghanta


The third day is dedicated to Mata Chandraghanta, a fierce goddess believed to destroy evil.

Her offerings include milk, sweets, and kheer.

Day 4: Kushmanda


On the fourth day, worshipers celebrate Mata Kushmanda.

Moreover, devotees also offer Malpua as bhog.

Day 5: Skand Mata


Mata Skandmata, seated on a lotus and riding a lion, is honoured on the fifth day.

Devotees offer bananas as bhog, believed to maintain good health.

Day 6: Katyayani


Mata Katyayani, the daughter of Sage Katyayan, is worshipped on the sixth day.

Her prasad is honey, symbolizing sweetness in life and freedom from troubles.

Day 7: Kaalratri


Kaalratri, fierce on the outside but protective of true devotees, is honoured on the seventh day.

The offerings include jaggery or sweets made with jaggery. Devotees also give prasad and dakshina to Brahmins.

Day 8: Mahagauri


The eighth day of Navratri is dedicated to Goddess Mahagauri.

Devotees offer coconuts as bhog, believing that donating coconuts to Brahmans on Ashtami blesses childless couples with a child.

Day 9: Siddhidatri


On the ninth and final day of Navratri, Mata Siddhidatri is worshipped.

Devotees observe a fast and offer til or sesame seeds or foods made with sesame seeds to the Goddess as bhog, believed to protect their families from unfortunate mishaps.


In Conclusion:


Navratri is a time of spiritual reflection and devotion, and the culinary aspect plays a crucial role in these celebrations.

The unique bhog offerings for each of the nine forms of Goddess Durga symbolize the distinct characteristics they represent.

Furthermore, as devotees observe fasts and offer these special bhogs, they seek blessings and protection from the divine during these nine auspicious days, making Navratri a complete and spiritually enriching experience.

Like, Share and Subscribe @dreamzandexperiences

Instagram :

Facebook :

Youtube :

Leave a Reply