“The 8 Immortal People” are also known as “The 8 Great Warriors”.

Can you name the Eight Immortal people as per Hinduism?

As per Hinduism, there are the eight immortals who are to remain alive on Earth until the end of the current Kali Yuga.

For various reasons, these eight immortals are said to still live on the Earth in blood and flesh even today.

These “immortal people” or “Chiranjeevis” were born human, but were/are blessed or cursed with really long life.

These 8 immortal people are given a group name “Ashta-Chiranjeevi ”. “Ashta” means “eight”.

“Chiranjivi”, is a Sanskrit word or term, which means “Immortal”. It doesn’t even correspond with the English word “eternal”.

“Chiranjivi” is the combination of two words, “Chiran” which means “long or permanent” and “Jivi” which means “lived”, which can roughly translate to “Long-Lived” or “Immortal”.

The term “Chiranjivi” is similar to the word “Amaratva”, which means “True Immortality”.

“Immortal person” is a person who “lives eternally until the destruction of the Universe”. All physical bodies are predicted to become irrelevant or will die at the end of time along with the destruction of the whole Universe.

The Eight Immortals / Chiranjivis are: –

These “Ashta Chiranjivis” are referred to as the 8 great warriors.

1.   Ved Vyasa

Ved Vyasa was the son of sage Parashara and Satyawati, a fisherwoman. He is the great-grandson of the sage Vashishtha.

2.   Ashwatthama

Drona or Dronacharya was the teacher of the Kauravas and the Pandavas.

Drona had performed severe penance for many years to please Lord Shiva. He did this to obtain a son who has the same courage as Lord Shiva.

Ashwatthama, the son of Drona was born.

3.   Kripacharya

Kripacharya is the fourth incarnation of Lord Brahma. He is well known as the royal guru of the princes in the Mahabharata.

He was born extraordinarily to Jānapadī and Śaradvān. He and his sister Kripi were adopted by king Shantanu.

4.   Hanuman

Lord Hanuman is one of the biggest characters of Ramayana.

Lord Hanuman is the reincarnation of Lord Shiva. He is also called “Vaayu Putra” because he is the godson of “Vaayu Dev” or “Wind God”.

Lord Rama and Hanuman are meant to be together. It is believed that even today, wherever “ Lord Ram” is worshipped “ Hanuman” will always be present.

5.   Vibhishan

Another character from the Ramayana is Ravana’s youngest brother, Vibhishana.

Vibhishana, Kumbhkarana and Ravana were brothers who prayed to Lord Brahma while they were kids.

Happy by their prayers Lord Brahma blessed Ravana with immense strength and power, Kumbhkarana yawned so didn’t get any blessings and Vibhishana was blessed with taking the side of truth always.

6.   Parshurama

Parashuram is the sixth incarnation of Lord Vishnu. He is well-informed about all sastras, astras and divine weapons.

Parashurama was born in a Brahmin family. He took birth for the sake of eliminating the evil on the Earth.

During his birth, the Kshatriya class had turned evil and used to abuse their powers by frightening and oppressing the common people.

7.   Mahabali

Mahabali is also known as Bali. Bali is a daitya king and the grandson of Prahlada.

After numerous wars, the unbeatable Bali had won heaven and earth.

The gods of heaven approached Lord Vishnu to save them from Bali.

Vishnu refused to help as Bali was his devotee. But the heaven gods pleaded as a human couldn’t take charge of activities in heaven. So Lord Vishnu decided to take an incarnation of a dwarf Brahmin, Vamana.

8.   Markandeya

Markandeya was born in the clan of Bhrigu Rishi, hence he is also known as one of the most ancient rishis.

Markendeya is a disciple of Lord Shiva. When Yama, the God of death had come to take Markendeya, Lord Shiva appeared and fought with Yama.

Lord Shiva won and granted immortality to Markendeya.

Mantra for long life

In the Hindu scriptures, there is a mantra, that talks about the seven immortals. This mantra contains the names of the seven immortals in Hinduism. By reciting this mantra, you can attract luck and even gain long life.

अश्वत्थामाबलिर्व्यासोहनुमांश्च विभीषण:कृपश्चपरशुरामश्च सप्तैतेचिरंजीविन:।

Ashwathaama Balirvyaaso Hanumanshcha

Vibhishanaha Krupascha Parshuramascha

Saptaitey Chiranjivinaha:|

Apart from the seven Chiranjivis mentioned above, there exist other Chiranjivis as well. Sage Markandeya, at the age of sixteen, was blessed and given the boon of being immortal.

अश्वत्थामा बलिव्र्यासो हनूमांश्च विभीषण: । कृप: परशुरामश्च सप्तएतै चिरजीविन: ॥ सप्तैतान् संस्मरेन्नित्यं मार्कण्डेयमथाष्टमम्। जीवेद्वर्षशतं सोपि सर्वव्याधिविवर्जित॥

Ashwathaama Balirvyaaso Hanumanshcha Vibheeshanaha

Krupaha Parshuramascha Saptaitey Chiranjivinaha

Saptaitaan Samsmareynnityam Markandeymathaashtamam

Jivedvarshshatam Sopi Sarvavyadhivivarjit||

The above mantra states that when you recite the above mantra daily, you are remembering the 8 immortals.

By chanting this mantra, you will be free of all illnesses and you will be blessed to live for more than 100 years.

“Life can only be understood backwards;

but it must be lived forwards”.

– Søren Kierkegaard

Leave a Reply