5 Elements of Nature for a Happy and Peaceful You!!!

Our human body is composed of 5 Elements of Nature:

  • Apa means Water – 72%
  • Prithivī means Earth – 12%
  • Vayu means Air –  6%
  • Agni means Fire – 4%
  • Akasa means Ether or Space – it increases and decreases as per your Spiritual growth.

The percentages of the first four elements remain constant but the percentage of Ether/ Space can be increased through spiritual practices.

Though “Fire” has the smallest proportion in the composition of the human body, its influence is tremendous.

These 5 elements are also known as the “Panch Mahabhoota.” They help us in understanding the “Laws of Nature” better.

  • Apa means Water – 72%

In ancient Indian literature comprising the Vedas, Brāhmaṇas, Upaniṣads, Purāṇas, and Smṛtis, “Water” has been treated spiritually, philosophically, cosmologically, medically, and poetically.

Water is considered the prime substance from which the universe came into being.

Water occupies the highest place amongst the five basic and essential elements of nature, called “Panchamahabhuta”.

  • Prithivī means Earth – 12%

The “Vedas” say that the “Soil is the Basis of our Survival”.

There is a quote in the Vedas which translates to: –

“Upon this handful of soil, our survival depends. Care for it, and it will grow our food, our fuel, and our shelter and surround us with beauty. Abuse it, and the soil will collapse and die, taking humanity with it.”

Mahatma Gandhi has also reminded us that:

“To forget how to dig the earth and tend the soil is to forget ourselves.”

  • Vayu means Air –  6%

“Air” is the most vital element of nature. Air, in Sanskrit, is called “Vayu”. It is also known as “Pranavayu”, which means “air is a life force”.

We check whether a person is alive or dead through his/ her nose. We check whether breathing or the “Air” is still flowing through their body.

The Earth’s atmosphere is Air. Air is a combination of many gases and tiny dust particles.

Air is a combination of about:

Nitrogen – 78%

Oxygen – 21%

Argon – 0.9%

Carbon dioxide –  0.04%

Small amounts of other gases – 0.06%

The Air element of nature is the clear gas, which is the most important element needed by living things to live and breathe.

Nature has prepared its way to “Recycle of Air”. Oxygen is a vital component for animals and humans to live. Our lungs take in oxygen and send back carbon dioxide to the air. Plants use the carbon dioxide in the air to prepare their food and live. Plants give off the oxygen that is essential for our living.

  • Agni means Fire – 4%

The element fire evolves from the elements “Ether” and “Air”.

When you hear the word “FIRE”, what is the first emotion or thought that comes to your mind?

“Fire” is usually associated with “Danger”.

And, fire is also associated with cooking. We can consume cooked and warm food because of fire.

 “Fire” symbolizes “Life”.

Ether provides fire with the space to exist.

Air offers fire the ability to burn. Fire will never be still because of the “air” element.

One major indicator of whether you are “ALIVE” is if the fire within you is still on.

Life on Earth is possible because of “Solar Energy” which is essentially fire. A huge ball of fire, the Sun, is the main source of fuel for our lives.

Any machine generates heat when it is in use. Electricity, petrol, wood, and coal are all forms of fire that let any machine run. Our body too in a machine which is working because of the fuel called “Fire”.

  • Akasa means Ether or Space –

The rest of the elements have a fixed proportion but the element ether increases and decreases as per your Spiritual growth.

Space/ Ether is the mother of the other elements. It is the foundation or base to acquire higher spiritual experiences.

Space/ Ether element is the subtlest form of all five elements.

A vibration is formed long before it takes the form of sound in the ear. “Primordial Ether” or” Primordial Space” are vibrations.  Hence, sound and the/space cannot be separated.

The ear is considered to be the sense organ of the element Space/Ether and the mouth is the organ of action.

An imbalance or disturbance in the element Ether/ Space in the body leads to hearing loss and loss of voice.

Ether/Space is the emptiness present between the cells in our body. This element is also present in the hollowness of the bladder, blood vessels, empty intestines and the lungs.

How do we “Balance” the 5 elements of Nature?

1. Yoga

All the yoga poses help us purify the 5 elements of nature.

Yoga also helps restore health and balances the body by balancing the 5 elements of nature.

Cleansing techniques of yoga are known as “Bhuta Shuddhis”. These techniques help us unfold the inner powers and abilities contained in each element.

“Bhuta Siddhi” is a part of yoga that offers techniques to master all the 5 elements of nature.

2. Meditation

Meditation helps to clean the thoughts and body impurities.

Through meditation, you can calm and cleanse the body parts which are diseased due to the impurities/imbalances of the elements of nature.

Through meditation, you can tap into the moistest important element of nature – Ether/ Space.

“Don’t dismiss the elements.

Water soothes and heals. Air refreshes and revives. Earth grounds and holds.

Fire is a burning reminder of our own will and creative power. Swallow their spells.

There’s a certain sweet comfort in knowing that you belong to them all.”

― Victoria Erickson


Leave a Reply